Skip to content

CSN Stores Gift Certificate GiveAway Extravaganza! [Closed]

March 8, 2011

Hello readers, its giveaway time courtesy of the wonderful CSN Stores team! I have worked with them before and am happy to say they are a reliable and wonderful company with everything from cookware to baby stuff to – okay just take a look alright? Its like a freakin’ mall on the web.

Anyway, 1 awesome Sangfroid reader will win a $65.00 gift certificate courtesy of CSN Stores to spend in anyway they want. I was talking with The Hating Expert about how some gifts are just so terrible sometimes, you wish they had just given you a giftcard, so we decided on these guidelines:

  • Leave a single comment below telling us about the worst/weirdest/unexpectedly mind-boggling gift you’ve ever gotten. If you can’t think of one, just tell me a story about something else I guess.
  • To get a second entry, tweet a link to this giveaway post on your Twitter (no Facebook stuff please) and leave a second, separate comment with a direct link to the individual tweet.

Monday the 21st of March ,  I will choose a winner using a random number generator and announce it along with a compilation of the best stories! Please remember to leave your email in the info box so I have a way to contact you!

In the meantime, while you are anxiously awaiting the results of the contest, why don’t you read some what I like to call THE BEST OF THE SANGFROID EVER.

What Will Happen If Gay People Get Married, Dr. Sangfroid?

How To Quit Your Job

What To Do When You’re Unemployed

20 Reasons Pizza Is Better Than a Relationship

21 Lessons In 21 Years

Texas: We Want To Know Where Your Dick is Going

 

P.S. To stay updated, you can follow me on Twitter, fan my FB page, subscribe to my blog, or just watch me through my window.

 

Notes: Contest open only to U.S. entrants. Giftcard does not cover shipping costs (which are cheap anyway). I am not being compensated for this giveaway.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Maureen permalink
    March 8, 2011 3:20 pm

    I honestly can not remember a gift that was out there as to something I didn’t want. I do know that when I have bought gifts I think hard and carefully about the item and the person that will be the recipient.

  2. Maria T permalink
    March 8, 2011 4:54 pm

    On my birthday, one of my friend gave me the game “dirty mind”…. The game itself isn’t as “dirty” as it sounds but since I didn’t know what it was when I first got it, it threw me off in the beginning.

    I hope i win!
    mtmomo09 AT gmail DOT com

  3. March 8, 2011 9:22 pm

    Oh man…the weirdest gift I’ve ever gotten was at my wedding. Our best man thought it would be hilarious to get a mounted (fake) dinosaur head from the SkyMall magazine that he noticed while on a Delta flight. He added a tiny bride & groom figurine inside of it’s mouth. Needless to say it may still be in the box :)

    danielleaknapp at gmail dot com

  4. Lissa permalink
    March 9, 2011 2:07 am

    Not a comment really more of a professing my undying love of you and your blog kind of thing…I LOVE YOU AND YOUR BLOG! There, I said it and I feel… GOOD!

  5. March 9, 2011 2:08 am

    Weirdest gift. That’s hard.
    Maybe, the book ‘What is a Wookie?’ or a display model office phone. Maybe a wrapped piece of ice or a three screws (the hardware kind) It’s difficult to choose.
    paigevbaker@gmail.com

  6. March 9, 2011 2:10 am

    tahweeted.

  7. Rissa permalink
    March 9, 2011 2:43 am

    My grandmother did all of the Christmas/ birthday shopping but after she passed away my grandfather tried his hardest to come up with presents. Not all of them have been bad but this Christmas he got me a sweater two sizes two small with big black and sparkly magenta stripes. It was about ten years to young for me, and I doubt I would have even worn it then…

  8. Ashley H. permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:20 am

    The worst gift I got was lace pillow shams that look like they are from the 70’s.

  9. Chris Reed permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:23 am

    The weirdest gift I have ever received would have to be a Cashmere scented reed diffuser. It included two little tea lights and some zen rocks (?). Besides the fact that I am a 23 year old guy, the reed diffuser stunk and swiftly became my coworker’s favorite prank. We would often hide it in someone’s office overnight, allowing it to stain the air with its horrendous scent.

    After about 3 months of this, it ended up in the trash.

  10. Aubreylaine permalink
    March 9, 2011 10:44 pm

    I don’t have one… Sorry! My other story…is that I was called to jury duty this week! That is exciting to me!
    aubreyfick at yahoo dot com

  11. shala_darkstone permalink
    March 10, 2011 11:19 am

    The weirdest gift I ever got was a string of M-n-M lights and an M-n-M figurine from my grandmother when I was 17.

  12. March 11, 2011 1:24 am

    I got some really creepy dolls from a relative once. LOL. That was interesting!

    gina.m.maddox AT gmail DOT com

  13. March 11, 2011 1:25 am

    tweet:

    gina.m.maddox AT gmail DOT com

  14. Ashley O permalink
    March 14, 2011 6:33 pm

    Dear Dr. Sangfroid,
    I’d have to say that the weirdest gift I’ve ever been given was toothpaste, as a graduation gift from my parents. Way to be sensitive, Mom and Dad.

    Really though, I didn’t mind at all.

    -Ashley O

  15. Danica Jo brozowski permalink
    March 14, 2011 9:51 pm

    The time i received a gift that totally blew my mind was when i was 14 years old. This was the time of life where you invite every one in your class to your pool party and had fun little games planned with cake and opening presents at the end.

    well amongst those invited was a kid that lived down the street from me who i road the bus with an occasionally planned kick ball with along with the other kids of the neighbor hood. we never really seemed to get along very well he would always pick on me and i would always throw stuff at him and kick him in return of his smart ass remarks.

    well you know the deal when your birthday comes around people around you start asking what you would like for a present . i had my list and what not filled with things that were in with the trends of the times like phat farm shoes and colorful shoelaces and things of that nature. one of the in things to have was this sort of sport back pack that you would see guys at the gym carry spare shoes and a towel around in. and i wanted one so badly .

    well my birthday party came and at the end i was opening my presents starting with my best friends first expecting to get what i most desired . but no she got me make up instead. so i carried on threw the presents of my family and other friends and the time i got around to opening the gifts of the kids that i wasnt really close with i had completely given up on the idea of having that cool back pack. But hey i was cool with it im not a selfish brat . i had a great day with every one and so did they .

    i came to the last present . naturally i choose his last because he was by far my favorite person . after ripping off the paper i froze . i held in my hand the little trendy sports back pack that my heart sought after for months . but i didnt freeze because i was so happy i got what i desired. i froze because the one kid that i never spent any quality time with or slowed down to even understand or talk to was the only one who listen to me the whole time. i dont even think he knows what he did or was even aware of the meaning this situation had on me because when i asked him how he knew he just simply said i herd you talk about wanting one so i got you one. i smiled and had to excuse my self to go to the bathroom on the account that i started crying.

    to this day it is one of the most beautiful acts of my life

  16. March 15, 2011 12:42 am

    Weirdest gift I got recently:
    My mom bought me a ShakeWeight for my birthday. Apparently it wasn’t a joke. She really thought it was a good gift.

    Worst gift I ever got:
    A steak and a blowjob. I’m the only man on earth who enjoys neither. Ex-girlfriend knew this and was pleased with herself.

    Most Unexpectedly Mind-boggling gift:
    Nerf Swords and a wizard wig/beard combo. Best sober night ever.

  17. March 15, 2011 6:49 pm

    My Aunt gave me a birthday gift when I turned 23. I opened it in front of her, my uncle and my dad to find out it was slinky, silk lingerie. I was so embarrassed! Not sure what my 65 yr. old Aunt thought of my single girl sex life but I sure didn’t want my dad thinking about it!

  18. anash permalink
    March 15, 2011 7:36 pm

    I tweeted at http://twitter.com/#!/anashct/status/47742932110946304
    email: anashct [at] yahoo [dot] com

  19. anash permalink
    March 15, 2011 7:37 pm

    the craziest gift i ever got was a typewriter—and it was during the age of computers@!

  20. Liz M. permalink
    March 17, 2011 3:09 am

    I have a relative who sometimes gets me really nice, thoughtful gift that I use but the other 75% of the time gets me (and others) weird, crappy things that I have to throw out. Examples include: thrift store VHS movies (only a few Christmases ago, I haven’t used a VCR since like 2003); random pens (not like executive pen sets, just regular pens); stuff she got for free with assorted corporate logos on it; board games appropriate for 8 year olds; itchy long underwear; and a weird, hideous Avon figurine of a Victorian lady holding a cup, with a cigarette burn on the cup part. She’s famous for these mystery boxes that contain a couple of cool things, like gift cards and kitchen tools, and then a whole bunch of stuff like what I described above.

  21. Liz M. permalink
    March 17, 2011 3:09 am

    I tweeted!

  22. Lisa permalink
    March 19, 2011 2:03 pm

    Enjoying reading all the responses. The weirdest gift I ever got was a whip with cat O nine tails. It was from an exboyfriend, who thankfully live out of state. I have no idea why I received this gift, but obviously someone had some strange thoughts on their mind.

  23. Rose permalink
    March 19, 2011 8:42 pm

    After I told my conservative relatives on my dad’s side that I was agnostic, I started to get a lo of bizarro religious gifts from them, as some half-assed attempt to convert me back, I suppose. Most of them were books, you know, things that would be actual gifts if they didn’t have a stupid ulterior motive to them.

    That is, except for the gift I got one year from my step-grandma, who was uber-Catholic (and I should say, the church my dad and stepmom and us kids attended was decidedly NOT). She just gave me a card from her church, saying that her priest would pray for me. SERIOUSLY THAT WAS ALL IT WAS. Nothing else. Just a card. She thought it was “enough of a gift.”

  24. Rose permalink
    March 19, 2011 8:48 pm

    Here’s a link to the tweet:

    http://twitter.com/rosethecomposer/status/49209356767604736

    And a screencap:

    Just so you know, my Twitter is protected – but if you send me a follower request I will approve you :)

  25. Regine permalink
    March 20, 2011 7:12 pm

    I’ve never gotten a particularly horrible gift, so I guess my story is that my entire family (including the extended family) always gets each other the lamest gifts. I mean, I don’t know if it’s just me, but it seems like bdays/xmas gifts should be about surprises and getting things that the person would prob not get for themselves. However my entire family always gets one another the lamest gifts, like basic things such as pajamas or socks or kitchen towels or something. For example, last xmas my grandma literally got me a shampoo and conditioner combo set and she got my dad pajamas and boxers and the previous xmas, my parents got me underwear. Their excuse is always “well, we don’t know what you want” and my thought about that is the usual “why don’t you just give me money then???”

  26. March 22, 2011 1:20 am

    weirdest gift, last Christmas, during a white elephant, I got a fake mustache, maybe I will use it for Halloween and be like Mario Bros :P

Trackbacks

  1. A Woman’s Manifesto « The Sangfroid

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

