Skip to content

Internet In Rage Over Halloween Costumes

October 21, 2009

The internet is the perfect place for people to research information, get in contact with friends and family, or waste time at work. Apparently, it is also the perfect place to let out your anger and totally flip out on people.

Halloween is coming, and you know what that means: Candy, booze, and costumes. Funny costumes, unique costumes, and of course…sexy costumes. Yes ladies, remember when you were 10 and wanted to dress as a fairy princess or a cheerleader? Well, you still do, except with a lot less fabric.

As Lindsay Lohan in the movie Mean Girls pointed out, “Halloween is the one night a year when girls can dress like a total slut and no other girls can say anything about it.” which as far as I’m concerned, holds completely true. Why? Because it’s a day to dress as what you normally would not dress as.

Apparently, the internet is in a goddamn rage over this. Articles such as this and this berate “slutty” costumes, citing them as everything from impractical to a step backwards for women’s rights. Impractical? I’m sorry, I wasn’t aware I was spending this Halloween in the snow, fighting off wolves. And everyone knows women’s rights are completely determined by what we wear. That’s what we were fighting for, the right to…not wear what we want to? It’s ridiculously more demeaning for one woman to even resort to calling another woman ‘slut’ or ‘tramp’ over her clothing. What happened to respecting personal style choice and even more, what happened to keeping your nose out of other people’s closets?

The problem that all these anti-slut-costume people see is that…oh wait, there is no problem. All it is, is pages of whiny bitches complaining about people wearing things that they don’t like. Seriously. There is not one goddamn legitimate reason to complain about slutty costumes on OTHER people. No one is making you wear a sexy costume.

Other complaints I’ve heard are along the lines of “If they can’t think of anything unique to wear then they are just dumb!” Oh, I’m sorry, I wasn’t aware I had to put effort into my Halloween costume. Afterall, it is just one day out the year that frankly isn’t worth it to dedicate hours to thinking up, designing, and putting together a unique costume.

Honestly internet rage people, if you are that worked up about what other people are wearing, just stay inside your home and don’t talk. No one wants to be friends with someone who criticizes someone else’s wardrobe for no other reason than they don’t like it.

P.S.- If you are actually comfortable with your body and want to wear a sexy or cute costume this Halloween, check out Yandy.com for costumes!

Bookmark and Share

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 7:21 am

    Agreed :) That is one of the reasons that I love Halloween! Isn’t that the whole point of this just-for-fun holiday? To dress like you normally wouldn’t? I didn’t know I had to dress up as a pumpkin for the rest of my life =p

    Love the rant ;)

    P.S. I bought the ‘Treasure Huntress” costume off yandy.com :)

  2. October 21, 2009 12:58 pm

    Interesting point of view. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. October 22, 2009 1:30 pm

    hey join this website http://buzzlyf.com add your blog to groups and get new users visits to your website, social networking with blogging..in your hand now..

  4. October 24, 2009 5:50 am

    Let ’em rage. I like that cop uniform. A lot.

  5. October 28, 2009 8:19 am

    I’m in Australia & Halloween isn’t really a big thing here, so i’m reusing a costume that i wore to a friends birthday party in january but changing my accessories etc, i love it & there aren’t enough opportunities during the year to go crazy & dress up so why not have a little fun with it.

    http://www.yandy.com/German-Beer-Girl-Costume.php

  6. Le Templar permalink
    November 11, 2009 5:49 am

    Wow, that Yandy photo just pops off the blog page. Did you do any special editing for it? I’m amazed at how real it looks, instead of the too-small and fuzzy stock photos we bloggers are stuck with. A great, coherent argument here. Some snark, of course (this is a humor blog) but more of straightforward opinion piece for you. And it’s good!
    One thought, on the link to the post about the 12 slutty costumes to avoid, several of those costumes have to be for strippers or sex parties, not for traditional Halloween events. Or are some young adults really basically going naked for Halloween these days?

    • Tegan McRae permalink*
      November 11, 2009 8:27 am

      I work for Yandy so I can use their professionally edited photos :D a definite perk for my blog!

      And yes, unfortunately some costumes are WAY over the top and hardly resemble anything of a costume :/ Its their choice though. I never said it wasn’t something to make fun of though… :)

  7. November 28, 2009 2:23 am

    While I completely agree with you about self-expression, the only problem I have with the “sexy” costumes is that those of us who choose not to wear them have trouble finding regular girls’ costumes. I’m an artist, and this year around Halloween I was working on a picture of Alice from Alice in Wonderland for a commission, and I thought that a good way to get some inspiration would be to get in character and be Alice for Halloween. But the only costumes I could find at the stores were all the “sexy” ones that came down to about my vagina. I would have loved to just have a normal length skirt and still be Alice!

    So basically… While I encourage people to wear exactly what they want, I think there are many women who would love to have cute, but not exactly “sexy” costumes available. That’s really that only thing that angers me about these costumes.

    • Tegan McRae permalink*
      November 28, 2009 6:53 am

      I completely agree! Finding a good, modest costume is almost impossible unless you want to shell out money. You’re probably better off making your own in that case unfortunately :/ However with so many people coming to realize that sexy costumes aren’t all-that, there may be more availability of modest costumes in years to come!

    • Elaine permalink
      September 6, 2010 3:43 am

      Same here. I just want something cute to wear for Halloween. Not frumpy, not slutty, just CUTE. Something flattering that hits right above the knee and that covers my midriff and chest. I don’t understand why there is no middle ground between crotch-length and floor-length on the market.

  8. Melissa permalink
    October 3, 2010 7:26 pm

    I disagree with this article entirely.
    Yes, you made some good points. However…
    For example; yes, part of women’s rights were to wear or not wear what they wished- but it was such an insignificant part of it. Clothing was a form of protest, but not what they protested for. And seriously?! Do you honestly believe that women’s rights are completely determined by what we wear? That’s idiocy. Women’s rights depend solely on how we ACT, not what we wear; do you think so little of yourself that your body, and what covers it- or doesn’t cover it- is more important than your mind, or your unique talents? That’s sad.

    It is purely within people’s rights to wish for modest halloween costumes. I’d like one myself that was in keeping with the standards of my church, partly because I’d rather people were looking up at my face, rather than down…

    And yes, people should have a right to wear whatever they feel like, I agree. But is it fair that other people should have to spend their evening looking at bits of other people that aren’t meant to be publicly displayed? How would you react, for instance, if someone’s ninety-year-old grandmother decided to utilize her ‘right to dress as she pleases’ and started running around outside how shall we say- in the nude?
    People should be able to wear whatever they want, yes. In their own homes. I repeat; IN THEIR OWN HOMES. In public, they should at least try to follow decent standards of dress- I’m not asking turtlenecks and ankle-length skirts, for heaven’s sakes, but I’m sick of having to stare at the rears of people who have too low an opinion of themselves or others to keep them covered!

    • October 4, 2010 2:56 am

      Woow, you have some fucked up reasoning girl.

      1. Women have the right to wear whatever they want. Period. This article was not about what is determined by what we wear, but the sad fact that so many people (like you) feel the need to judge what anyone else puts on their bodies. Please re-read and take the time to understand.

      2. Fuck you if you don’t like looking at me. If I should stay sheltered in my house because you can’t handle a little cleavage, then maybe you should be the one staying inside. Who the fuck are you to judge if granny wants to show off her body? Stop being a judgmental prick and realize MY BODY, MY CHOICE. Stop pushing YOUR opinion of what is acceptable to show on everyone else. SOCIETY DOES NOT NEED TO ELEVATE ITSELF TO YOUR STANDARDS!

Leave a Reply

