Skip to content

Girl Talk: Size Issues

February 25, 2010

Ladies, ladies. As if the size of our hips or the cellulite on our thighs isn’t enough for us to worry about, apparently the rest of the world has to get involved with it too. It used to be asking a woman’s weight was as offensive as asking her age, but today the weight of anyone in the spotlight is broadcasted on tabloid magazines. Models are scrutinized by employers for having an extra inch on their waist, while the public labels them anorexic. Curvy bodies are ogled by men, while other women point out the stretch marks and fat. It’s a bit ridiculous, right?

I know there are revolutions with size-acceptance happening. London Fashion Week filled the runways with size 12+ models, while V magazine featured entire layouts of plus size girls. Christina Hendricks herself has done a world of change for the curvy girls out there, turning heads away from petite Victoria Beckham over to an hourglass figure.

While I embrace these long overdue changes, there are still many problems facing women and their weights. Its other women.

Yes, the tables are turning. Being a size 12 doesn’t disqualify you from magazine covers anymore, and extra curves are idolized on television and off. But we cannot use this as an excuse to continue putting down other sizes. I know, we’ve all been sick of seeing every media outlet strutting women around with a size 2 waist and putting the size 14 girl in the corner. But that’s doesn’t mean it is appropriate to put down the skinny girls.

  • Recently news has been throwing around the term “real women” in reference to plus size girls in fashion. I’m sorry, but because I am skinny, I am suddenly not a real woman? What does that even mean? I’m some sort of robotic skeleton? A mythical unicorn? This term is both ridiculous and demeaning. Stop isolating girls who are small. How about they all walk the runway and they’re all real women?
  • America Ferrera, star of (recently canceled) Ugly Betty, said in an interview about her size, “We’re not all a size 2 and we’re not all a size 0, and you know what? That’s OK, because some of us like to eat!” I didn’t know that if you ate food you can’t be a size 2. I’ll put down my fork because I guess that’s impossible. I forgot smaller girls hate eating because they are all anorexic and also robot skeletons. Thanks for being so insulting and making a generalized and ignorant statement, Ferrera.
  • Gina Torres, who is voicing the character of Super Woman in an upcoming action film, had this to say about size: “There aren’t really any skinny bitches in the world of comic books, they’ve got muscle.” Skinny bitches? Okay, well maybe she was using the phrase in jest. But then she goes on to say, “What I love about superheroes is that in that comics world they’re all curvaceous. They’re strong. And it’s important to have strong images of women out there, women who aren’t afraid of expressing themselves, women who aren’t afraid of taking chances, women who aren’t afraid of their own power.”
  • I have to continue this on an entirely new bullet point because WHAAAAAT??? Number 1, have you SEEN what women in comic books look like? They are far from realistic. They are on occasion portrayed with muscle (She-Hulk), but in general all the ladies from X-Men, the Fantastic 4, and Justice League all have 00 waists and double D boobs. Secondly, since when does being strong require you to have curves? Sure, the image of a model doesn’t exactly scream “I can lift a truck”, but it doesn’t mean they’re weak. I guess to Torres, ‘skinny bitches’ simply are afraid of expressing themselves and taking chances because they don’t have muscles (and giant boobs).

Wow, that was a rant. But it’s true. Really, the hate needs to stop. Not only do we have to deal with men criticizing our every inch of body, but now women too? Just quit it. It’s wrong, hurtful, and does NOTHING to help the overall size revolution. Let’s just appreciate each other, no matter what size, okay ladies?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. lyttleton permalink
    February 25, 2010 4:20 pm

    Thanks for checking out my tats. Personally, I’m okay if the words all meld together in 20 years, cos that’s the point, hah. I want my whole chest covered in words.

    As for your point in this post, you’re writing about something that I think has to be said as far as the way people overreact against types. If something becomes popular or preferred, there will always be a backlash to say another thing is just as good. But instead of being satisfied to simply say, “Thick is just as good as Thin if that’s your desire” or “Band A is as good as Band B if that’s your taste” people have to go further and trash the popular thing.
    I’ve always thought it was funny when people said, “Real Women Have Curves,” because what does that make women without curves? I guess they join the rest of us who aren’t “Real Americans.”

  2. Karla permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:57 pm

    Point taken. But remember that thin women are much more easily accepted in this society. The images of thin women bombard the public and lure us into believing that extremely thin is the norm. I am “plus sized” according to the modeling world at 5’10” 160 pounds, size 10.

    • Tegan McRae permalink*
      February 26, 2010 4:03 am

      Just because they are more easily accepted by some doesn’t make any of the comments I posted about right or fair.

      Also I don’t consider sizes 10, 12, and 14 plus-size since they honestly look average to me. But most clothing lines classify them as plus size and I didn’t want to find new terminology and confuse readers.

  3. Le Templar permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:48 am

    Hi Tegan:

    You do a great job of interacting with commenters, reacting to their thoughts and providing additional information. This is considered an essential part of successful blogging, and I hope other Puma Press students will do the same.

    Thanks,
    Le Templar
    Puma Press blogging adviser

  4. brittney permalink
    August 8, 2010 5:33 am

    Ok , i think your getting the wrong idea, when people say they like to be a “real woman” there saying real women EAT! not like tori spelling or some other celebrities that DO NOT EAT. Real women are people who dont have to starve themselves to fit into a size 0 when really there body type and shape should be a size 6 or 7, get what im saying? :) im not skinny, or thick. im curvy kind of like kim kardashian. Curvy girls are getting more attention now because people are tired of hearing about how all these women are forcing themselves to starve. It gets old.

    • Dr. Sangfroid permalink*
      August 8, 2010 9:31 am

      It is both offensive and ridiculous for you to assume women of a size zero/thin models are only slim because they are starving themselves. Please stop making these ridiculous sweeping generalizations.

  5. February 12, 2011 10:07 pm

    I realize this post is older, but I just stumbled on your blog today and have been scanning through. I love what you’re saying, and today posting something simular, except for a lot less nice and pc. I am thin mostly because of Crohns Disease so I take a lot of offense to the terms Skinny Bitch and the idea that I’m not a real woman because I don’t have “curves”. I don’t go out of my way to tell someone how they should eat/dress/how much they should weigh, and I’m getting tired of the anti-thin crusade as well. If I don’t tell someone to put down the burger, they can’t tell me to order a second helping.

    Whoa. Sorry for the tangent.

    Anyway, like I said love your blog!

  6. katie Mackay permalink
    March 8, 2011 4:57 am

    I’m Tegans long lost cousin and I agree with her 100%. Our family has petite genes. Before I had my son I was 5″3 was about a size 2 to 4… after I had my son I’m a size 0. I don’t work out and I eat cereal all the time. I hate when ppl tell me to “eat something” sorry I’m not an average size woman but being small has its problems 2. A lot of small woman don’t have chest or butts or hips. It makes me feel less like a 20 yr old woman. And that statement hurtss when they say real woman have cruves. Thanks but I already don’t feel like a woman so you don’t have to rub it in sorta thing. Then you have girls say how jealous they are but its not worth it. MEDIA MAKE UP YOUR DAMN MIND!

Trackbacks

  1. Highlights Week 6 « Highlights of the Puma Press Blogs
  2. Reverse Discrimination | remarkablegirls: mind, body, and empowerment

Leave a Reply

