Skip to content

Sarah Palin Encourages Harassment

April 2, 2010

At a recent Tea Party gathering former governor Sarah Palin spoke out about the need for solutions to America’s problems. Instead of speaking about viable, logical ways to improve America, Palin instead encouraged harassment of Obama supporters.

“Or that bumper sticker you see on the next Subaru driving by, an Obama bumper sticker. You should stop the driver and say, ‘So how is that hopey, changey thing working out for you?'”

Hopey? Changey? What? Sarah, WHAT? We’re really supposed to see you as a mature, professional politician when you use words that don’t exist and advocate stopping drivers who support someone you don’t like? Even rhetoric violence can lead to real violence, which at that point will be undeniably blamed on the people who supposed the idea.

In fact, it looks like one Tennessee driver has already taken Palin’s message to heart. The driver repeatedly rammed his car into another car that was sporting Obama/Biden stickers. Did I mention in the car was a 10 year old girl? Fortunately no one was hurt and the offender was arrested (and allegedly very drunk). Palin may think she’s making a joke, but that type of harassment is very real.

What do you think? Does Palin’s power position mean she shouldn’t say these sorts of things? Or was her statement harmless?

Note: As many of you know, I don’t like to rag on Palin as she already receives a lot of bashing from…everyone else. But this was just too much for me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. soopermouse permalink
    April 3, 2010 8:49 am

    She’s right. And don’t give me this incitation to violence bullshit unless you want to see some serious Obama supporter violence and intimidation during the primaries. Do you remmeber her being hanged in effigy? I do. We call that a hate crime, one comitted in Obama’s name , and he did fuck all about it.

    Do you remember the viciously mysoginistic attacks against Hillary Clinton by his campaign? I do.

    Also, have you forgotten Obama’s comments on her? He bloody needs to learn to take them as well.

    Most of Obama’s supporters voted for him without knowing who he wa snor what he stands for- a clue- what he is doing now is what he is and what he always stood for before he ran for president. If those people would have looked at his record as opposed to drinkignthe Hopey changey koolaid, their lives would be better now.

    • Tegan McRae permalink*
      April 3, 2010 9:23 pm

      Just because the other side did it, doesn’t mean that it’s okay Palin did it. She had all those things said about her, I wish she could have been the bigger (wo)man and found better ways to express her goals and views.

      And I didn’t report about the other side doing it because that happened (mostly) before I had a blog. I’m trying to keep current. If you see a news story about something similar to this, democrat or republican, feel free to shoot me an email and I may write up something for it.

      Also, sorry for delayed comment approval. Busy days and nights!

  2. April 4, 2010 12:37 pm

    I know you are an Obama supporter and all, but I have to say this: the Obama campaign significantly lowered the level of the political discourse in the previous elections. As such, isn’t it hypocritical to complain that the other side is using somewhat similar yet tremendously tamer tactics?

    The question is a valid one. Is not even on the same planet with the “Sarah Palin is a Cunt” shirts, etc.

    A lot of us lost friends and comrades to the bloody elections of 2008, who chose to insult us, throw away their lifetime principles in order to embark on the hopey changey express.
    Now that the express has predictably derailed, I’m afraid that Schadenfreunde is, in my opinion, a perfectly appropriate response.

    • Tegan McRae permalink*
      April 4, 2010 9:00 pm

      I’m not a die-hard Obama supporter. I didn’t even fully support him during the elections. I support a lot of decisions he’s made in regards to women’s and gay rights which, for me, are huge issues. That said, I don’t care when other people do not support him. It’s not my goal to ‘sway the opposition’.

      However I have never been a supporter of Palin. I’ve never met her, but I watched and read as much about her as I could during her election. Simply, I think a lot of her opinions are crap, she’s misinformed in a lot of areas, and frankly comes off as sleazy. I like John McCain well enough, he’s my state’s senator and keeps shit in line, for sure. But with Palin by his side I was pretty antsy about it. However I don’t think my post is on the same level as those shirts.

  3. April 5, 2010 5:59 pm

    No, not your post, her “incitement”.

Trackbacks

  1. Highlights Week 11 « Highlights of the Puma Press Blogs

Leave a Reply

